Altrusa International

Altrusa International of Council Bluffs held its regular monthly meeting on May 14 at the Madison Avenue Hy-Vee. The program was presented by Jeanne Cata, international student coordinator at Iowa Western Community College. She spoke about IWCC’s International Program and how our club’s warm clothes closet donations impacted the students. They have 88 international students from 38 countries.

ASTRA scholarships in the amount of $400 each were awarded to three Tri-Center and two Iowa School for the Deaf seniors at their respective awards programs.

Teresa Phillips was initiated as a new member. The officers and board members for 2019-20 were installed: Kathleen Kilnoski, president; Carol Timm, vice president; Carol Reeder, secretary; Jane Flury and Norma Jones, directors; and Linda Belt, past president.

Eileen Ryun and Deb Mueller were delegates at the 63{sup}rd{/sup} Altrusa District Seven Conference in Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, on May 3 and 4. The Council Bluffs club received the Governor’s Award. The conference’s International representative was President Leanne Milligan from New Zealand. Club member Bev Harbold was installed as the 2019-2021 biennium District Seven Governor.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.