“I voted” stickers line a ballot box at Epworth United Methodist Church on June 5, 2018. The church served as the polling place for the fifth voting precinct, as well as the fourth, which was moved to Epworth from the Salvation Army on North 16th Street due to a water main break.

Election Day is a little more than a month away, and the ballot in Pottawattamie County is a crowded one.

Nine candidates will vie for three seats on the Pottawattamie County Board of Supervisors.

Republican incumbents Scott Belt of Council Bluffs and Justin Schultz of rural Pottawattamie County near Council Bluffs and former board member Lynn Grobe of rural Pottawattamie County near Oakland advanced in the party’s contested primary in June.

Belt received 1,690 votes, Schultz 1,564 votes and Grobe 1,468 votes in the five-candidate race.

The Democratic Party has three candidates as well — advancing through an uncontested three-candidate primary. Frances Parr and Marsha Pilger of Council Bluffs are joined on the ballot by Glenn Hurst of Minden.

Pilger received 1,966 votes, Hurst 1,772 and Parr 1,631.

A total of 5,736 voters cast a ballot, about 9 percent of the county’s 64,223 registered voters. That total includes 3,062 Republicans and 2,626 Democrats, according to the Auditor’s Office.

Belt of Council Bluffs led the way with 1,690 votes, good for 23.14 percent of the vote, according to unofficial results from the Pottawattamie County Auditor’s Office. Belt is seeking his third term on the board.

Supervisor Tom Hanafan is running for a second term as an independent, while former Council Bluffs director of public health Donn Dierks is also running as an independent.

Libertarian Bobby Fairchild of Council Bluffs is looking to break into local politics with a run for a county board seat.

There are no contested county office races. Recorder Mark Brandenburg, Treasurer Lea Voss and Attorney Matt Wilber — all Republicans — do not face a challenger on the ballot.

At the state level, there are two candidates in House Districts 15 and 22 and three in House District 16.

Sign up for The Daily Nonpareil news alerts

Be the first to know when news happens. Get the latest breaking headlines sent straight to your inbox.

In House 15, Democrat incumbent Charlie McConkey faces challenger LeAnn Hughes. The district includes northwest Council Bluffs and all of Carter Lake.

In House 16, Republican incumbent Mary Ann Hanusa faces two challengers — Democrat Steve Gorman and Libertarian Steve Sechrest. The district includes southwest and northeast Council Bluffs.

And in House 22, Republican incumbent Jon Jacobsen of Council Bluffs faces Democratic challenger Ray Stevens. The district includes eastern Council Bluffs and the rest of Pottawattamie County.

In Iowa Senate District 11, which includes eastern Council Bluffs and the rest of Pottawattamie County, along with all or part of Cass, Adams and Union Counties, Republican incumbent Tom Shipley of Greenfield faces Democrat Sara Ramsey of Corning.

There are six candidates in the U.S. House of Representatives 3rd District race, a seat currently held by Republican David Young of Van Meter. He’ll face Democrat Cindy Axne of Des Moines, Libertarian Bryan Jack Holder of Council Bluffs, Green Party candidate Paul Knupp of Gladbrook, Legal Medical (marijuana) Now Party candidate Mark Elworth Jr. of Council Bluffs and independent Joe Grandanette of Des Moines.

The Libertarian Party — officially established in Iowa thanks to Gary Johnson’s showing in the 2016 presidential election — has candidates up and down the ballot in Iowa. Jake Porter of Council Bluffs is the party’s gubernatorial candidate.

He and running mate Lynne Gentry will face Republican incumbent Kim Reynolds and running mate Adam Gregg, Democrat Fred Hubbell running mate Rita Hart and Clear Water Party of Iowa candidate Gary Siegwarth and running mate Natalisa Blaskovich.

Recommended for you

Load comments