The Iowa High School Athletic Association released its substate baseball assignments for Class 3-A and 4-A schools on Friday.

In 4-A, Thomas Jefferson (5-14; records through Thursday) has been placed in Substate 1 with two state-ranked teams, No. 9 Waukee (14-8) and No. 10 (Urbandale (13-8).

In Substate 8 of 4-A, Lewis Central (15-5) and Abraham Lincoln (6-13) are entered, along with No. 1 Johnston (18-2).

In Substate 8 of 3-A, fourth-rated Harlan Community (14-3) is the lone state-rated entry. It also includes Glenwood (11-7), which swept the Cyclones on June 13.

Postseason play begins in 3-A and 4-A on July 19. Here are the assignments in substates including southwest Iowa schools.

Class 4-A

Substate 1: Sioux City East, Sioux City North, Sioux City West, Thomas Jefferson, Urbandale, Waukee.

Substate 8: Abraham Lincoln, Des Moines East, Des Moines North, Indianola, Johnston, Lewis Central.

Sign up for The Daily Nonpareil Newsletter

Receive stories like this everyday to your email. Sign up for our daily newsletters here.

Class 3-A

Substate 1: Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley, Denison-Schleswig, Le Mars, MOC-Floyd Valley, Sergeant Bluff-Luton, Sioux City Heelan, Spencer, Storm Lake.

Substate 8: ADM, Atlantic, Carroll, Creston, Dallas Center-Grimes, Glenwood, Harlan, Winterset.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.