Four southwest Iowa basketball players have earned all-state honors from the Iowa Print Sports Writers Association.

With the help of coaches from the Iowa Basketball Coaches Association, the IPSWA gathered in Des Moines last Saturday and selected three eight-member all-state teams in each of Iowa’s four classes.

Three SWI players in Class 3-A earned second-team recognition: Glenwood senior Christian Stanislav, Creston senior Kylan Smallwood and Denison-Schleswig junior Goanar Biliew.

In Class 1-A, St. Albert senior Jared Gast was the lone Council Bluffs athlete to earn all-state recognition. Gast was the leading scorer (13.0) and rebounder (7.0) on a balanced Falcon squad that lost to eventual champion Des Moines Grand View Christian in the state quarterfinals.

Of 49 votes cast by sports writers and coaches in attendance, there was a tie vote for two Mr. Basketball candidates. Therefore, the IPSWA has named Bettendorf’s D.J. Carton and North Linn’s Jake Hilmer as co-Mr. Basketball honorees.

Carton, an Ohio State signee, averaged 24.4 points, 7.6 rebounds and 6.1 assists per game. He had a career-high 49 points in a regular-season win over Davenport West. The 6-foot-2 point guard is a three-year starter and two-time, first-team all-stater who scored a school-record 1,198 career points.

Hilmer capped a brilliant career by helping North Linn to the Class 2-A state championship. The Lynx went 102-4 in his career, including second- and third-place finishes at state. He averaged 26.1 points and a state-best 10.4 assists while shooting 57.8 percent from the field. The 5-11 point guard, who is headed to Upper Iowa University for basketball and baseball, is the only player in state history to surpass 2,000 career points (2,332) and 1,000 career assists (1,106).

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports.

IPSWA All-State Teams

Class 1-A

First Team

Zach Martinek, Sr., West Fork; Issa Samake, Sr., DM Grand View Christian; TJ Schnurr, Sr. Algona Garrigan; Codey Hicks, Sr., Janesville; Brennan Sefrit, Jr., Bedford; Andrew Gibb, Sr., Fort Dodge St. Edmond; Trey Shearer, So., Montezuma; Nick Reid, Jr., Central City.

Second Team

Brady Happel, Sr., Dunkerton; Hunter Decker, Sr., Sioux Central; Cole Burmeister, Sr., Exira-EHK; Nik Coble, Jr., WACO; Bryce Coppock, Jr., Newell-Fonda; Izic Mackey, Sr., Alburnett; Jackson Louscher, Jr., South O’Brien; Kaidon Larson, Sr., Clinton Prince of Peace.

Third Team

Caleb Grizzle, Sr., Ankeny Christian; Angelo Winkel, So., Algona Garrigan; Spencer Schorg, Jr., Remsen St. Mary’s; Hunter Rickels, Sr., Calamus-Wheatland; Jack Kelley, Sr., Don Bosco; JD Stout, Jr., Keota; Parker Hitt, Sr., Mormon Trail; Jared Gast, Sr., St. Albert.

Class 2-A

First Team

Jake Hilmer, Sr., North Linn; Conner Hill, Sr., South Hamilton; Ryan Schmitt, Sr., Van Meter; Jace Davidson, Sr., Pocahontas Area; Beau DeJongh, Sr., Boyden-Hull; Ben Heeren, Sr., Ogden; Masen Miller, Jr., Iowa City Regina; Cooper DeJean, So., OA-BCIG.

Second Team

Keaton Mitchell, Sr., Wapello; Cade Fuller, Sr., Dike-New Hartford; Caleb Delzell, Jr., Camanche; Andrew Van Ryswyk, Sr., PCM; James Betz, Sr., Garner-Hayfield-Ventura; Carter Cuvelier, Sr., Aplington-Parkersburg; Hunter Dekkers, Jr., West Sioux; Avery Busta, Sr., Forest City.

Third Team

Curran Ingram, Jr., Des Moines Christian; Ben Wolgemuth, Sr., Mediapolis; Cam Soenksen, Jr., Camanche; Trey Hinote, Sr., Greene County; Logan Peters, Sr., South Hamilton; Haris Hoffman, Sr., Cascade; Justin Recker, So., Monticello; Zane Neubaum, Jr., South Central Calhoun.

Class 3-A

Sign up for The Daily Nonpareil Newsletter

Receive stories like this everyday to your email. Sign up for our daily newsletters here.

First Team

Bowen Born, Jr., Norwalk; Cole Henry, Sr., Oskaloosa; Xavier Foster, Jr., Oskaloosa; Collin Lister, Sr., Carlisle; Owen Coburn, Sr., Spirit Lake; Derek Krogman, Sr., West Delaware; Jackson Molstead, Jr., Charles City; AJ Becker, Sr., Maquoketa.

Second Team

Conner Groves, Sr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Easton Darling, Jr., Winterset; Goanar Biliew, Jr., Denison-Schleswig; Drew Enke, Sr., Clear Lake; Dylan Peeters, Sr., Davenport Assumption; Alex Irwin, Sr., Le Mars; Kylan Smallwood, Sr., Creston; Christian Stanislav, Sr., Glenwood.

Third Team

Daniel Wright, Jr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Macklin Shanahan, Sr., Maquoketa; Jacob Schockemoehl, Jr., Dubuque Wahlert; Logan Shetterly, Jr., Pella; Kieren Nichols, So., Knoxville; Rian Yates, Sr., Oskaloosa; Keaton Kutcher, So., Mount Vernon; Nate Michels, Sr., Benton Community.

Class 4-A

First Team

D.J. Carton, Sr., Bettendorf; Tyreke Locure, Sr., Des Moines North; Patrick McCaffery, Sr., Iowa City West; Noah Carter, Sr., Dubuque Senior; Logan Wolf, Sr., Cedar Falls; Aidan Vanderloo, Sr., Sioux City East; Keegan Murray, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Trey Hutcheson, Sr., Linn-Mar.

Second Team

Tyrese Nickelson, Sr., Waterloo East; Ty Anderson, Jr., North Scott; Dylan Jones, Sr., Waukee; Kris Murray, Sr., Cedar Rapids Prairie; Evan Gauger, Sr., Indianola; Tamin Lipsey, Fr., Ames; Keshawn Pegues, Sr., Davenport Central; Cliff McCray, Sr., Sioux City West.

Third Team

Japannah Kellogg, Sr., Ames; Peyton Williams, Sr., Johnston; Trayvon Williams, Sr., WDM Valley; Cortaviaus Seales, Sr., North Scott; Mick McCurry, Sr., Cedar Rapids Washington; Matt Stilwill, Jr., WDM Dowling; Jack Wetzel, Jr., Cedar Rapids Kennedy; Noah Hart, Sr., Waukee.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.