Twenty-three girls soccer players from southwest Iowa have earned all-state recognition from the Iowa Girls Coaches Association.

First-time all-staters from SWI include Abby Evers of Thomas Jefferson in 3-A, Jayden Cross of Lewis Central in 2-A and Teagan Blackburn of St. Albert in 1-A.

Four Council Bluffs players made the second team in 3-A: Alexis Exley and Morgan Gant of Thomas Jefferson, and Darby Thomas and Julia Wagoner of Abraham Lincoln.

Abi Schultz of Glenwood joins four Lewis Central players on the 2-A second team: Chloe Schlines, Hadley Hill, Mikayla McCart and Rachel Cushing.

Sign up for The Daily Nonpareil Newsletter

Receive stories like this everyday to your email. Sign up for our daily newsletters here.

Five St. Albert players made the 1-A second team: Makenna Shepard, Ellerie Tarbox, Maggie Wettengel, Emily Recher and Jordyn Blaha. Four Tri-Center players were named to the second unit: Lilly Dahir, Emma McDonald, Miranda Ring and Sage Schroder. And sisters Alexis and Alyssa Kellar of Treynor also made the second team.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.