Prep Baseball


Wednesday, July 24


Substate 8 Final

ADM 3, Harlan 1


At Principal Park, Des Moines

Seeds in parentheses


First Round Friday, July 26

(1) Mason City Newman (35-3) vs. (8) Pekin (17-8), 1:30 p.m.

(4) Don Bosco (28-4) vs. (5) Coon Rapids-Bayard (29-4), 11 a.m.

First Round Saturday, July 27

(2) Alburnett (32-5) vs. (7) South Winneshiek (29-9), 11 a.m.

(3) Martensdale-St. Marys (34-6) vs. (6) Remsen-St. Mary’s (26-7), 1:30 p.m.

Semifinals: Thursday, Aug. 1, times TBA

Championship: 11 a.m. Saturday, Aug. 3


First Round Monday, July 29

(1) North Linn (38-5) vs. (8) West Branch (20-7), 11 a.m.

(4) Central Lee (21-2) vs. (5) Des Moines Christian (28-8), 1:30 p.m.

(2) Van Meter (31-3) vs. (7) Underwood (26-4), 7 p.m.

(3) New Hampton (28-9) vs. (6) West Sioux (21-5), 4:30 p.m.

Semifinals: Thursday, Aug. 1, times TBA

Championship: 1:30 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 3

Prep Softball


At Fort Dodge

Seeds in parentheses


Semifinals Wednesday, July 24

Collins-Maxwell 9, Newell-Fonda 1

Clarksville 1, Lisbon 0

Third place: Newell-Fonda (38-6) vs. Lisbon (33-7), 5 p.m. Thursday, July 25

Championship: Collins-Maxwell (27-1) vs. Clarksville (33-1), 6 p.m. Thursday, July 25


Semifinals Wednesday, July 24

North Linn 8, Mount Ayr 1

Alta-Aurelia 3, East Marshall 2

Third place: Mount Ayr (26-3) vs. East Marshall (32-5), 7 p.m. Thursday, July 25

Championship: North Linn (41-4) vs. Alta-Aurelia (22-9), 8:15 p.m. Thursday, July 25


Semifinals Wednesday, July 24

Davenport Assumption 6, Waterloo Columbus 0

Louisa-Muscatine 10, West Liberty 2

Consolation Game Wednesday, July 24

Treynor 7, Mount Vernon 6

Third place: Waterloo Columbus (36-5) vs. West Liberty (29-6), 2:30 p.m. Friday, July 26

Championship: Davenport Assumption (40-2) vs. Louisa-Muscatine (35-4), 3:30 p.m. Friday, July 26


Semifinals Wednesday, July 24

Carlisle 7, West Delaware 6, 8 inn.

North Scott 3, Charles City 2, 9 innings

Consolation Games Wednesday, July 24

Independence 3, Denison-Schleswig 0

Dallas Center-Grimes 1, Oskaloosa 0

Third place: West Delaware (31-11) vs. Charles City (36-4), 4:45 p.m. Friday, July 26

Championship: Carlisle (37-3) vs. North Scott (27-4), 5:45 p.m. Friday, July 26


Semifinals Wednesday, July 24

Waukee 3, Johnston 1

WDM Valley 4, Iowa City High 2

Consolation Games Wednesday, July 24

Indianola 4, Ottumwa 1

Fort Dodge 8, Cedar Rapids Kennedy 0

Third place: Johnston (35-9) vs. Iowa City High (35-8), 7 p.m. Friday, July 26

Championship: Waukee (40-3) vs. WDM Valley (32-10), 8 p.m. Friday, July 26


First Team

*Sara Keller, Jr., 1B, Creston; *Logan Hughes, Sr., SS, Shenandoah; *Morgan Schaben, Sr., P, Harlan; *Alex Mohr, Sr., C, Denison-Schleswig; *Sarah Heilesen, Sr., P, Denison-Schleswig; Gracie Hagle, Fr., SS, Creston; Baylee Newell, Sr., SS, Atlantic; Olivia Engler, So., P-1B, Atlantic; McKenzie Waters, Jr., CF, Atlantic; Madison Schumacher, So., C, Harlan; Kate Heithoff, Fr., SS, Harlan; Haley Bach, So., SS, Lewis Central; Allison Mertz, Sr., SS, Carroll Kuemper; Brielle Smith, Sr., CF, Glenwood; Brooklyn Taylor, Sr., SS, Glenwood; Sydney Biermann, Sr., P, Glenwood

Second Team

Nichole Gilbert, Jr., 2B, Shenandoah; Karsyn Rush, Sr., RF, Atlantic; Paige Armijo, Jr., 1B, Denison-Schleswig; Presley Rodenburg, Jr., UT, Lewis Central; Bryn Morgenstern, Sr., 2B, Clarinda; Hailee Knight, Fr., UT, Clarinda; Saige Rice, Sr., CF, Creston; Alexis McGinnis, Sr., CF, Shenandoah; Alyssa Derby, So., C, Atlantic; Tianna Kasperbauer, Fr., 2B, Harlan; Julia Schechinger, So., CF, Harlan; Kayla Rauch, Sr., CF, Denison-Schleswig; Kyndal Hilgenberg, So., UT, Carroll Kuemper; Brianna Gerhardt, Sr., P-1B, Glenwood; Kelly Embray, So., C, Glenwood; Kamryn Buntrock, Sr., 1B, Red Oak.

Honorable Mention

St. Albert: Peyton Carman. Lewis Central: Taylor Elam. Creston: Peyton Rice, Neveah Randall. Harlan: Miranda Goetz. Carroll Kuemper: Kenzie Schon. Glenwood: Taryn Bertini, Cameron Rounds. Red Oak: Chloe Johnson. Clarinda: Aziah Smalley. Shenandoah: Delanie Voshell. Atlantic: Madison Botos, Kennedy Goergen. Denison-Schleswig: Kambrie Dau, Kailey Pick.

*unanimous selection


Teams with Southwest Iowa players:


Southwest District

Emily McIntosh, Soph, West Harrison; Cheyanne Rife, Sr., West Harrison; Haley Koch, Soph., West Harrison; Talia Schon, Jr., Glidden-Ralston; Katelyn Winnett, Sr., Coon Rapids-Bayard; Cora McAlister, Jr., Coon Rapids-Bayard; Ali Silvius, Soph., Stanton; Kami Waymire, Jr., Exira-EHK; Macy Emgarten, Fr., Exira-EHK; Amanda Foster, Soph., Woodbine; Jozie Lett, Jr., CAM; Kenna Ford, Soph., Riverside; Gracie Bluml, Jr., Riverside; Addi Meese, Soph., Fremont-Mills; Kendall Reed, Jr., Fremont-Mills; Sydney Beymer, Soph., Audubon; Kassidy Croghan, Sr., East Mills.

District Coach of the Year: Jami Sherer, West Harrison


Southwest District

Alli Boyle, Soph., Earlham; Meagan Blomgren, Sr., Van Meter; Lilly Miller, Sr., Interstate 35; Alexis Bean, Sr., Earlham; Denali Loecker, Jr., Ogden; Caroline McAlexander, Sr., Mount Ayr; Kate Stanley, Sr., Interstate 35; Erikah Rife, Fr., Logan-Magnolia; Lydia Knapp, Sr., Panorama; Josie Sowers, Soph., Pleasantville; Makenzie McGriff, Jr., Pleasantville; Haley Forret, Sr., Van Meter; Abby Archer, Sr., Van Meter; Katie Anzalone, Sr., AHSTW; Reanna Rife, Jr., Logan-Magnolia; Abby DeJoode, Sr., Pleasantville; Meredith Adreon, Jr., Ogden; Olivia Larsen, Jr., Sidney; Alexa Anderson, Soph., Mount Ayr; Jayda Gay, Soph., Martensdale-St. Marys; Lexi Branning, Jr.,


District Coaches of the Year: Brandie and Bret Ruggles, Mount Ayr


West District

Baylee Newell, Sr., Atlantic; Sydni Huisman, Sr., Treynor; Alli Mertz, Sr., Carroll Kuemper; Karli Olsen, Jr., Spirit Lake; Sara Keeler, Jr., Creston; Payton Ahrenstorff, Sr., Spirit Lake; Logan Hughes, Sr., Shenandoah; Olivia Engler, Jr., Atlantic; Josie Ayala, Fr., Carroll; Chloe Harskamp, Sr., Sioux Center; Stella Umphreys, Soph., Treynor; Taylor Richter, Sr., Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley; Carlin Smith, Fr., MOC-Floyd Valley; Kamryn Buntrock, Sr., Red Oak; Konnor Sudmann, Sr., Treynor; Jadynn Moore, Jr., Estherville-Lincoln Central; Brooke Zylstra, Jr., Boyden-Hull/Rock Valley

District Coach of the Year: Kara Huisman, Treynor


West District

Abbie Hlas, Jr., ADM; Skylar Rigby, Jr., Ballard; Emma Dighton, Soph., Boone; Abby Husak, Jr., Ballard; Alyvia Dubois, Sr., Carlisle; Jena Young, 8th, Winterset; Riley Gilroy, Soph., Bondurant-Farrar; Morgan Schaben, Sr., Harlan; Corry Pickering, Sr., Winterset; Molly Hoekstra, Jr., Carlisle; Lydia Olejniczak, Fr., Perry; Kinzey Foley, Jr., Sergeant Bluff-Luton; Sarah Heilesen, Sr, Denison-Schleswig; Brooke Haage, Jr., Le Mars; Vanessa Johnson, Soph., Gilbert; Sydney Biermann, Sr., Glenwood; Skylar Cole, Soph., Storm Lake; Kelly Stoakes, Fr., Webster City

District Coach of the Year: Jim Flaws, Carlisle

Sign up for The Daily Nonpareil news alerts

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.